top of page

Taylor's Inaugural Inter-Varsity Mooting Competition 2020

Updated: Mar 28, 2020

Bringing together law students from different universities to participate in the first ever inter-varsity mooting competition in Taylor’s was a feat that could only have been accomplished through the hard work of Taylor’s Law Society, in collaboration with Taylor’s Mooting Society.

The Taylor’s Inter-varsity Moot competition was kicked off with an opening ceremony at 8.00 a.m. on the 7th of September 2019, which was officiated by Taylor’s very own Moot Master, Mr. Harcharan Singh. During his opening speech, he briefed the participants on the basics of mooting – seeing as most of the participants were relatively green and had limited experience in mooting. He mentioned several key points such as how to address the judges with the appropriate titles and how one should carry oneself during the mooting process.

A total of 27 teams participated in the competition. Students who were not only from Taylor’s University but also from other universities such as Multimedia University (MMU), University Malaya and the International Islamic University Malaysia (IIUM) did their best and impressed the guest judges from various prestigious law firms with their passion and thorough preparation, despite the fact that many of the participants were beginners.

After a tough battle during the semi-finals, two teams emerged as finalists: Brie Quek and James Lau from Taylor’s, as well as Evien See and Nabilah Farhanah from MMU. The final round was judged by two former Court of Appeal judges, Dato’ Seri Hishamudin Yunus and Dato’ Varghese George , as well as Ms. Lavinia Kumaraendran, a senior partner at Thomas Philip. Both teams gave it their all, displaying their prowess and eloquence in attempting to convince the judges of their case. Many students and lecturers sat in for the final round in the moot court to support their students and friends.

In the end, Brie Quek and James Lau emerged as Taylor’s pride and joy: the champions of the first Taylor’s Inter-varsity Moot competition. They received a challenge trophy and medals of recognition as their prize.

Mr Harmahinder Singh, the Head of Taylor’s Law School and Dato’ Seri Hishamudin Yunus officiated the closing ceremony at the end of the day and gave closing speeches.

The previous President of the Taylor’s Law Society, Amitaesh, also gave a closing speech, where he mentioned that:

"the motive of kickstarting the mooting careers of as many students in Taylor’s Law School as possible and bringing exposure to them was what propelled the establishing of the Mooting Club in Taylor’s Law School."

All in all, the competition was a booming success. The efforts of Taylor’s Law Society and Mooting Society are greatly applauded and all the students look forward to their subsequent events!

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page