top of page

Taylor’s Law School: September Awards Ceremony 

The highly awaited moment has arrived - the grand Awards Ceremony, an occasion of great significance for every law student, a culmination of their tireless efforts and dedication! This annual Awards Ceremony is a joyous tradition of Taylor’s Law School that honours students from both the March and August intakes, recognizing their outstanding achievements by bestowing accolades upon those who have excelled in each law module, making it a truly momentous celebration of their academic accomplishments! 

To set the grand occasion in motion, we had our eloquent masters of ceremony, Serafina and Jashrej, who extended a warm welcome to Professor Dr. Eddy Chong Siong Choy, the esteemed Executive Dean of the Faculty of Business and Law. He graced us with his opening address, addressing a distinguished audience comprising stakeholders and the talented students of Taylor's Law School. Following this, we invited Mr. Hacharan, a senior lecturer and the revered moot master of Taylor's Law School, up onstage to introduce a distinguished guest of utmost importance, YA Datuk Vazeer Alam bin Mydin Meera. YA Datuk Vazeer Alam holds the prestigious title of Judge of the Court of Appeal in Malaysia and serves as the Vice President of the Inns of Court in Malaysia. This Awards Ceremony bore extraordinary significance for Taylor's Law School, as it marked a pivotal moment as we all witnessed the official signing of a Memorandum of Understanding between the Inns of Court of Malaysia and Taylor's University. 

The Inns of Court of Malaysia (ICM), established on November 10, 2016, stands as a professional membership body, encompassing a wide spectrum of legal professionals, all united by a shared mission for the advancement of legal excellence. ICM serves as a dynamic platform for its members to exchange knowledge, share legal experiences, nurture fellowship, goodwill, and collaboration. With this, our collaboration with ICM offers invaluable opportunities to Taylor’s Law School and their students, underscoring the institution's commitment to promoting legal education and excellence. 

Alas, The moment we had all been eagerly waiting for had arrived - the giving of book prizes to students who had achieved the highest scores in their respective modules. The awards ceremony began with a flourish as we acknowledged the outstanding Year 1 August Cohorts. Among them, Janelle Ong Eu Yin emerged as a shining star, capturing awards for the Highest Scorer in Contract Law I, Law of Tort 1, and achieving the title of Best Overall Performer in Year 1. Following that, Chloe Abigail Jones showcased her exceptional prowess by clinching the title of Highest Scorer in Legal Skills and Methods, as well as the Malaysian Legal System. Last but not least, Yek Xiao Ning displayed a remarkable command of her studies, securing the prestigious title of Highest Scorer in the English Legal System. 

The spotlight then shifted to the Year 2 August Cohorts, a moment brimming with significance, as Chia Yee Wen stood at the pinnacle of academic achievement, sweeping all awards for the highest scores in each module. Chia Yee Wen's scored the highest in the following modules: Criminal Law, English Land Law, Malaysian Constitutional and Administrative Law, Mooting, Public International Law. To cap it off, she secured the coveted Best Overall Performance in Year 2 award. This was truly a testament to Chia Yee Wen's unwavering commitment to academic excellence! 

Moving forward, it was time to recognize the Year 3 August Cohorts. Similarly, we celebrated the remarkable achievements of a single outstanding student, Koay Qi Eun, who emerged as the sole recipient of all the awards, having attained the highest scores in every module. Koay Qi Eun's impressive accomplishments extended across a range of subjects, including Company Law, Equity and Trusts, Family Law, and Malaysian Land Law. It’s no surprise that she claimed the highly esteemed Best Overall Performance in Year 3 award that afternoon! 

In addition to the book prizes handed out to our accomplished students, the awards ceremony also featured the presentation of special honours to those who made exceptional contributions through mooting competitions, and served in leadership roles within Taylor's Law School. In Taylor’s Intervarsity Mooting Competition 2023, the dynamic duo of Nataly Nadia binti Abdul Razak and Ain Sofia binti Rosli rose to the occasion and were recognised for being the Champions. Following closely, the team of Kevin Perakk Sike and Elissa Chiew Hui En were recognised as the First Runner Ups. The other oralists were also acknowledged, with Nataly Nadia binti Abdul Razak being recognised as the Best Oralist for the Grand Final Rounds and 2nd Best Oralist for the General Rounds. Kevin Perakk Sike was recognised as the Best Oralist for the General Rounds, and Elissa Chiew achieved the 2nd Best Oralist for the General Rounds. The commendation was extended to students Lee Man Heyy, Liew Yu Tong, Chu Kei Yuen, and Tai Sheng Kit for their active participation.

In the UUM International Arbitration Moot Competition 2023, a formidable team comprising Shivendra Ryan Kanagasabai, Claire Amanda Marie Gomez, and Liew Yan Tung emerged as Champions, with Shivendra Ryan Kanagasabai also earning the distinction of Best Oralist. In the LAWASIA International Arbitration Moot Competition 2023, two commendable teams were dispatched. The first team, consisting of Lee Man Heyy and Ivy Liew Xin Yi, was recognised for their participation. The second team, composed of Chia Yee Wen, Chia Rong En, and Sharon Wong Ang Sing, celebrated reaching the semi-finals!

As the award ceremony drew to a close, a heartfelt token of appreciation was extended by Professor Eddy Chong to the esteemed representatives from several law firms. These generous sponsors have played a pivotal role by providing support for the book prizes! With that said, it was an evening filled with well-deserved recognition and celebration of the receivers of these remarkable academic achievements. Till the next Awards Ceremony in the coming year, when we gather once again to honour the achievements of our students! 

136 views0 comments


bottom of page